One more week…

It’s the final summer countdown… one week to go.  Actually it’s less for me.  I go back Tuesday… the kids on Thursday.  However, for all intensive purposes, my mind is in the final preparation stages.  I have created my scope & sequence (or what I call it… as it may not be a proper model for a scope & sequence in stuffy academia).  Some readers asked if I would share it with them, especially those that are starting new in a different grade or level.  I am happy to share!  I will even link you up to a copy on Google Drive and also a blank version for you to download and create your own!  Happy to help!  That is what I love about art teacher, well , teachers in general. We are a sharing bunch!

Scope & Sequence 2014

 Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 6.56.06 PM Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 6.56.15 PM

Blank Version

I like to see my year laid out in front of me.  I need to see my plan.. I guess I’m a bit of a planner.  However, it is always a work in progress.  I created it in Pages and can go in and change things if I need to.  You know how it is… snow days, field trips, concerts, assemblies, and just off days could change my plans.   Sometimes I have extra days and need a bit more and sometimes I don’t get to everything.   Last year, we had 6 snow/cold days that required we change things a bit to accommodate the most important stuff.   I use this as a guide.  I included some links to some of the blogs/pins that I got the idea from.  As you can see, I am inspired by a lot of other teachers.  We are a community of sharing here ya know!

I also have a database of projects form my district and my past lessons that I draw from too.  Planning is half the battle.  Now, I am in the process of prepping the September projects, creating presentations, pulling examples, and planning my strategy of inspiration! 

I know other art teachers who plan in a similar way.  Whatever works for you!  

I hope to keep this blog up to share more of my projects along the way!  i have some very exciting school-wide projects coming up.  I’m also fundraising for my art club and 6th grade Legacy mural.  My budget is just not big enough to accommodate these too.  So, I’m creating Art to Remember projects in October and have the orders ready before holiday break!  I hope all the hard work pays off!  I’d also like to purchase an iPad for the artroom, in addition to the ones I have to borrow but don’t get to keep if others need them.  I want one that stays solely in the art room for our use every year!   That would be awesome!

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 7.13.08 PM

 I will be back to share my room when I get it set up and photographed!  I love seeing all my art teacher bloggers sharing their rooms and management ideas, so I will share mine when I get it done!

 

One response to “One more week…

Leave a Reply

