Kindergarteners “Walk the Line”

I am always trying to find ways to fill the time and make learning fun for Kindergarteners. They have boundless energy and are full of questions. The more fun it is, the more they remember it! I decided to keep it simple and do a line lesson with different types of lines. We read the story: Little Green by Keith Baker

Little Green by Keith Baker

Little Green by Keith Baker

It’s an adorable little story with some of the best illustrations out there! The story is about a hummingbird’s flight through a garden and a little boy watching it while painting. It’s simple, cute, and colorful! I read them this story first while pointing out the different names for the lines. We reviewed line types and how to make them. Then, I took them on a line walk! This was a last minute fun idea I had. I used colored painters tape to make different lines on the floor to walk on. See below:

Curved Lines

Curved Lines

Dotted Line (I had them hop) and a loop-de-loop

Dotted Line (I had them hop) and a loop-de-loop

Zig Zag lines

Zig Zag lines

This went the whole length of the hall and I used a different color for each line type. We walked it like a balance beam and they giggled and LOVED it! Even the teachers walking by got into the act by walking the line. I just took it up today and everyone was so sad to see it go! I will definately be doing this every year!

Hopping on the dotted line!

Hopping on the dotted line!

Walking the Line!

Walking the Line!

Going around the loop

Going around the loop

After we had our walk, we went back into the classroom and drew the different lines on paper with crayons. I had them pick a color and draw a wavy line first… then we put that color back and they could choose a different color to make the next line. There were only 2 guidelines. Draw from one edge to the other (had to touch two edges) AND use a new color for each line. They worked until they had filled most of the page. Here is my example:

Many Line Design

Many Line Design

We added watercolors today, but I still have to take some pics to show you the final outcomes! More on that tomorrow!

3 responses to “Kindergarteners “Walk the Line”

Leave a Reply

