Sunflowers In Progress

Well, it happened.  I’m out today with a sick baby.  Well, not really sick, but he does have a fever.  I’m thinking it’s teething because I feel a sharp little tooth poking through!  So, I stayed home today to make sure he is okay and administer hugs, kisses, and baby Motrin on a regular basis.  I had to get up at 5:30am and head into school to set up for a sub.  I had the plans made up and just felt the need to go get all the materials so that they are in one location.  So, I don’t know how it went yet.  I was at school late last night starting to hang the Sunflower fields that will blossom as soon as all the artwork is done!  Here are the beginning stalks… see the leaves appearing?

See the sunflower stalks growing???

See the sunflower stalks growing???

The kids are working on them and they will be up by the end of the day Friday or Monday morning at the latest.  1st grade through 3rd graders and 6th grade are creating the sunflowers using different techniques, materials, and skills.  First grade created simple circles of paper (one large and one small) that are cut to create the petals and then glitter added to the center for texture and interest.  Glitter is MAGIC to 1st graders!  They LOVE LOVE LOVE it!  Here is an example although this is my example.

2nd grade is creating tissue paper sunflowers by cutting a circle from construction paper and gluing petals from tissue paper on in layers.  They then added balls of tissue paper to the center for depth and texture.

3rd graders used yellow crayon to draw a sunflower from life and then added watercolors to complete the resist technique.  The color combinations were gorgeous and as soon as we are done, I’ll be adding those to the site here.  I showed them wet-on-wet and wet-on-dry techniques.

6th grade is my favorite!  I LOVE this project.  I had them trace a plastic circle stitching template onto the brown paper and then they used light modeling paste through the template to create the center texture.  They traced it again for the center of the sunflower and drew the petals from observation. I had bought some silk sunflowers and had photos of real ones that I had brought in the week before but they had died before we got to that step!  They tore and cut pieces of text, maps, and dictionary pages to add visual pattern and texture to the design.  The were to focus on balance and collage.  I photocopied dictionary pages  (Van Gogh and Sunflower pages), New York State maps, and book pages for this step.  I also gave them tissue paper to layer over the black and white of the collage for color and more layers.  After it is dry, they will outline with black sharpie and add portfolio oil pastels and water for more color.  The center will be glued in and color added.  Finally, they will cut out around the drawing.

Here they are in progress…

Here is my in progress/ demo example

Here is my in progress/ demo example

Drawing the sunflower

Drawing the sunflower

Collaging the papers

Collaging the papers

Gluing tissue paper next

Gluing tissue paper next

I’ll post the finished ones when we are done!  SO far they are looking amazing!  So excited!

4th and 5th graders are creating butterflies to go in the field.  I will details though next. Just wait to see the whole field in bloom!  I’m going to cut out letters to read:  See LBE Art Grow! This may be a yearly theme.  LOVE how it crosses so many levels and with different materials.  I read “Camille and the Sunflowers” book to all levels and “Katie and the Sunflowers” too.  We were inspired by Vincent VanGogh’s Sunflower paintings.

My poster of Van Gogh's Sunflowers and other references.

My poster of Van Gogh's Sunflowers and other references.

Stay tuned for the finished display!

2 responses to “Sunflowers In Progress

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. so cool! love this idea, can’t wait to try it! I’d love to see more photos as the flower heads go up. great blog, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

